28 November: Congratulations, it’s not a trilogy afterall

I was walking down the street today with a friend explaining my nanowrimo novel dilemma, i.e. that my novel is too long for a standalone book but that I didn’t really want to write a trilogy when a (kind of) third option occurred to me.

The novel stands at about 95,000 words so far, so I still have 25,000 to fit within the general length guidelines of 80-120k. But what if I went over by a bit, say 10k, that wouldn’t be the end of the world. And I know there’s a lot of fluff in these last 50k (nanowrimo tends to do that to a novel) so I reckon I could pull back 15k fairly easily.

So, could I finish the story in 50,000 words? You know, I reckon I just could. Hoorah, the trilogy is dead!

1 thought on “28 November: Congratulations, it’s not a trilogy afterall

Leave a comment