All sewn up

I’ve never been one sewing. It always seemed a bit girly. But recently I’ve been getting intrigued by fabric, particularly felt, and got sucked into making a few things. I don’t know the first thing about sewing and pretty much make it up as I go along. Turns out I find sewing strangely therapeutic.

I bought a rainbow block of 4″ squares of felt from Paper and String. It has 45 different colours and is great for trying things out. It’s a wool/acrylic mix – cheaper than pure wool but without the nastiness you get from just acrylic.

The first thing I attempted was this little coal tit. It’s lightly padded and on a long stick (a garden cane) so you can push it into plant pots or vases. I really should have trimmed off that loose thread…

Felt coal tit

Then I moved onto a polar bear. This was originally intended as a Christmas decoration but I didn’t finish it until January so now it’s just a general bear ornament 🙂 I kept seeing a particular kind of stitch but couldn’t look up how to do it as I didn’t know what it was called. Luckily my mother recognised my vague description and so I learnt how to do blanket stitch – used here for the first time.

Polar bear - felt and seed beads

Finally a little brooch in the shape of a Fab lolly – one of my favourites from childhood.

Fab lolly - felt, seed beads and wooden stick

6 thoughts on “All sewn up

Leave a Reply

