Working 9-5, what a way to make a living

You may have noticed it’s been quiet this week on the blog. This is because I’ve finally got one of those job things. Where you’re expected to go somewhere outside your house for seven hours a day and do things you probably wouldn’t choose to do (with the exception of eating lunch). In return they will apparently put some money in my bank account towards the end of the month. Nice.

Commuting in what’s turned out to be the coldest month of winter is proving a bit of a pain. To get to work I can get one bus which takes an hour and a half.  Or I can walk to the station, get a train one stop, change to another train for two stops, change to a tube train for two stops, then walk to the office. Strangely, this only takes 45 minutes.

Regardless, I am obviously very grateful to have some gainful employment after 8 months of unemployment, albeit temporary and not in my chosen sector. I’ve still been making myself write every day, even if only a little bit.

Tonight I went to my writers group again and I actually read out something I’d written for the group. I’ve never read anything out like this before and was a bit nervous but also fairly keen. Unfortunately the loud bongo salsa music coming from next door didn’t really add anything to the apocalyptic theme of the story.

I got some positive comments and some very useful comments – mainly around structure. I also got picked up my proliferating adverbs. You turn your back for five minutes and they’re all over the place. Excessive adverbs are generally frowned upon these days – the assumption being if you have to use an adverb you’ve picked the wrong verb in the first place.

I’ve got a bit of thinking to do now with this short story and if I can get it into better shape before the 8th, I might still enter it into that competition.

One thought on “Working 9-5, what a way to make a living

  1. Starryeyed

    Hope the working thing will work out ok! It must have been a bit of a shock to the system. Friday feels good though doesn’t it. Can’t wait to read your short story once it is competition ready. xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

