Kew Gardens

I’m moving house in a couple of weeks so I thought I’d take advanatage of my short-lived proximity to Kew Botanic Gardens (just about walking distance) and get in another visit.

I’ve come here before when doing research for stories as you can experience many different landscapes (and even climates in the big glasshouses). The different planting often reminds me of places I’ve been on holiday – the hiss of the wind in a bamboo grove or the spicy scent of gum trees.

Fir tree and pinecones

Fir tree and pinecones

bamboo

One of the things I love at Kew is the juxtaposition of slightly decaying Victorian ironwork with rampant jungle in the glasshouses

sequioa

Sequioa

magnolia

Magnolia blossom

jungle

The trunk could be some kind of prehistoric creature…

japanese

Japanese Zen garden

Leave a Reply

