Nanowrimo 2013

November is rapidly approaching and with it Nanowrimo. Usually I’d be wittering on about nanowrimo long before now, discussing my novelling plans and preparation. The reason I haven’t is that I’ve decided not to do nanowrimo this year for the first time in 6 years.

The main reason is that I have too many half-finished novels that I’m trying to get into shape and at this point taking a month out of the year to add another to the pile is not the best use of my time. It also has to be said that my excitement for it has waned a little over the last couple of years so, if I take a year off, I may be able to recapture some of that next year.

I really value the focus nanowrimo provides though, so I’ve decided to do a variant on it as a personal challenge. Writing a 50,000 word novel in November takes me an average of two hours a day. This year I’m going to commit to carry out the equivalent of two hours a day on another writing project. 60 hours in total over the month. I’ll log my time on a chart in the same way I usually log my word count.

So what is the writing project?

Over the last couple of months I’ve been planning a big project that I aim to launch at the start of 2014. This 60 hours will contribute to the preparation of this.

I’ll write more about it in due course, but for now here’s a teaser picture…

The start of a new project

The start of a new project

2 thoughts on “Nanowrimo 2013

Leave a Reply

